Miriam’s Tale – The Concluding Episode

Miriam's Tale, Chinma Eke's blog

Dear Miriam,

If you’re reading this, it means I’m dead, or I’ve finally summed up the courage to leave this letter where you can find it.

I have wronged you terribly Miriam, and I apologise for two wrongs can never make a right.

It started as a stupid joke some years ago; one of the guys had joked about men not knowing whose children they were raising, and just as a joke I took fibres of Daniel and Ada’s hair and had them tested with mine. Daniel’s returned negative. I had it retested; same result. I realise now, it was a stupid thing to do, and my actions thereafter were even more stupid. Rather than discuss it with you I volunteered to go for the Abuja project for five months and when I returned, Ifeoma was pregnant for me already.

I remembered that period, Ken had been behaving funny at the time, and upped and went to Abuja for a ‘project’ for a five month stretch.

Her parents insisted I marry her traditionally, and the rest, as they say, is history.

I don’t know what happened with Daniel, I’m not sure you do either, but he is my son, and I love him with every fibre of my being.

I am sorry for betraying you, for two wrongs never make a right, but I ask one thing. If you’ve ever loved me; I ask that Daniel remain my son, regardless of who his biological father is.

Also, I ask that you find it in your heart to accept Ifeoma’s children, for they are mine biologically.

I love you,

Kenechukwu.

 

That letter felt like Ken speaking to me from the other side. Lol. I smiled through my tears.

Here I was, waxing lyrical, thinking of the first line in the refrain of Adele’s ‘hello’ in the midst of my pain and heartbreak. I sat weeping silently as I considered the gravity of what I had just read. I hadn’t even allowed myself to consider what it would mean if Ken knew or even doubted Daniel’s paternity. Now I had proof that not only had Ken known about Daniel, he had even kept my secret!

I was touched beyond anything I could ever imagine. These past year, I had stayed hating Ken, while for years he had covered my indiscretion! It didn’t make him having another family right, but his act of discretion really touched me.

I was sitting and weeping when my phone rang; Emeka. I didn’t want to speak to him at that moment, but I also knew not taking his call was going to get him to come over.

I braced myself and took the call. “Hi Emeka, hope you got home ok?” I asked in a forced cheerful voice.

“Yes I did. How are you?” he replied.

“I’m ok, just tidying up.”

“Ok, how’s that going?”

“It’s going well.” I replied.

“Any skeletons you need help with shaking out of the cupboard?” He joked.

I laughed and he laughed with me. “No, I’ve got this. Thanks for offering.”

“You’re welcome. So I’ll leave you to your packing.”

“Aite, thanks again for a pleasant evening.”

“It was my pleasure.”

I ended the call wondering when my heart and mood had lightened.

I made an instant decision. Ken had asked one thing of me; that I never let out that Daniel wasn’t his biological son, and that wish I would keep God willing.

I began arranging the room, throwing out the things that needed to go. This was a new dawn, I really was free.

I felt lighter than I had ever felt since Ken’s death, my grief was over. I had loved Ken deeply and felt betrayed that he had had another family. But with the knowledge that he had known our son wasn’t his biologically and had kept my secret, I freely forgave him.

Unfortunately he had died young, I would give anything to have him here with me. Unfortunately he was dead and I had mourned him. Now it was time to live.

PhotoGrid_1449670737422.jpg

 

 

2 thoughts on “Miriam’s Tale – The Concluding Episode

  1. Wow coje, longest time. .Have really missed those stories, I enjoyed maria m’s story and would love to read more.

Leave a Reply

