Second Chances E12

“It is beautiful.” Chima cooed, she was admiring her finished wedding dress, and it really was beautiful, and on time; the wedding was still two weeks away. “Thanks dear, you always get me.” She gave Deola a heartfelt hug, almost crushing her bones.

Deola protested when the hug was getting to tight.

“You look like you needed that.” Chima replied, going back to her dress.

“Huh?”

“Yeah, you look sad.”

“I am not sad.” Deola protested.

“Don’t lie to me.” Chima sat on the nearest sofa and patted the space beside her.

Deola joined her on the sofa.

“So tell me, what is it, why are you looking so gloomy?”

Deola sighed. “So, I surprised Kunle at his office, we went out for lunch, had a very swell time, did I tell you his family has given their blessings?”

“Yes, you did.”

“Good, ok. So, on our way back, I drove because that was part of the date, my surprise, my treat, him- just the pleasure of his company. And his appetite offcourse.”

Chima was nodding as she followed the narration.

“So, on our way back, my phone ran, I asked that he pick on my behalf; I was driving, guess who it was?”

“Who, I can’t guess.”

“Thomas Briggs.”

“THOMAS WHO?”

“Yeah, you heard right.”

“Why was he calling you?”

“He said, just to check up on me. In any case, I couldn’t care less. The problem now is; Kunle. He just went suddenly silent. He hasn’t been himself since that day. It’s been three days since, and conversations are few and far between, stilted. I’m scared Chima, I love Kunle so much, I don’t want to lose him.” Deola cried.

“By God’s grace you won’t. Come here darling.” Chima held out her hands to hug Deola.

Deola avoided her hug, got up and began pacing. “Why won’t Tom and his shadow just let me be, I made a mistake, a huge one, and I’m sorry I did it. I had an affair with a married man, and I’m sorry I did it. I love Kunle, I want to make a life with him, is that too much to ask?”

“No, it isn’t too much to ask.” Kunle replied from the doorway.

second-chances- chinma eke's blog

Deola and Simi turned to the door in surprise at the sound of Kunle’s voice. They had been so engrossed they hadn’t heard him come in.

“Hi Kunle.” Chima said in greeting with a weak smile.

“Hi Chima.” Kunle replied, barely glancing a her, his attention on Deola.

Deola was very surprised to see Kunle, considering he had been subtly ignoring her recently, she hadn’t been expecting him.

Kunle wasn’t big on surprise visits. Usually he called or sent a message ahead before he visited. According to him; he hated wasted journeys. So, he being here was serious course for concern for her. What was the plan? To catch her in a compromising situation? Did this mean he didn’t trust her?

“Hi Deola.” He said softly, not moving from the doorway.

“Hi K” She replied warily. She wasn’t sure as to the reason for this visit. Matter of fact, she had a sneaky suspicion she might not like it.

“How have you been?”

Chima’s gaze was swinging from Deola to Kunle, they were both oblivious of the fact that she was present.

Deola shrugged her response, as though to say; ‘so so’.

Kunle came into the room and leant on the wall beside Deola, they were both now facing Chima, but neither of them paid her any heed.

“You know that day, when I took the call from Tom Briggs, I was angry and jealous as hell.” He paused, as though waiting for that to sink in. “My mind conjured up various scenarios, I didn’t even want to listen to your explanations.”

Deola sighed sadly in response, tears welling up in her eyes. This was it, she could feel it. Kunle was going to break-up with her, and who would blame him; she came with too much baggage. It hurt, so very much. She felt like her heart was breaking into a million pieces, she had thought she loved Tom, but what she had felt for him paled when compared with what she felt for Kunle, she loved him so, and didn’t know how she was going to survive being without him,

“I love you D, I want to be the only man in your life, to be the only man you know. Not realistic, right?” He shrugged. “I love you, and I want you to be my wife, the mother of my children, my best friend. Sorry Chima, but I’m about to usurp you.”

Chima smiled through tears, and waved him on to carry on.

He leaned off the wall, and stood in front of her, wiping away the tears trickling down her cheeks. “I don’t care if there are a million Tom Briggs, or my family refuses from now till eternity, I love you, I want to marry you. Marry me Deola?” He went down on a knee and produced a ring box out of his suit pocket.

It was all happening so very fast for Deola, one minute she’d been certain he was going to end the relationship, the next Kunle was on a knee, asking her to marry him with the most beautiful ring she had seen!

“Yes!” She screamed, laughing and crying at the same time. She was going to marry Kunle!

He slid the ring on her finger, it was her perfect size, she couldn’t believe this day was here, she had given up on falling in love when the scandal broke and she ended the relationship with Tom, she had given up on marriage, believing she would forever be tainted with the scandal of her past and no one would want her, but God had given her a second chance at love through Kunle, and she was taking it.

Chinma-Eke-Chinma-Ekes-blog.png

 Here ends Deola and Kunle’s story: Second Chances, a sequel to Motive, one of the first series published on this blog. I hope you enjoyed it, I would love to hear from you.

Shout-out to faithful blog visitor Gift and her ‘pearl’!!!! They got married last Saturday, the 25th of April 2015, here’s wishing them a happy married life, with God’s blessings.

April is almost over, hello May……..

18 thoughts on “Second Chances E12

  1. Weldone Chinma! I enjoy your series even though I don’t comment often.

    I love the way you crafted Deola and Kunle’s love story, It’s refreshing. Reading Second Chances was worth my time.

    More grace dear.

  2. Nice one I must say. Having been detached for a long time, I had to read about 4 episodes in one sitting. Great work Chi, keep it up!

  3. Wow! How come i missed this before? Lovely story, Chinma. I love reading and i enjoyed reading this.

    Looking forward to reading the next one. Great job!

      • Chinma i just read the ‘My super ex-boyfriend’ series and noticed you repeatedly used ‘off course’ instead of ‘of course’. Just thought to bring it to your notice so you can edit properly in your next series.

        I wouldn’t mind being your editor. It’s one of the things that come naturally with me.

        Cheers!

      • Thanks Cee jay. Yes, I had been corrected on that. Did you notice it in recent series?
        Yaaayyy! I have an editor, thank you for offering, but there are T’s and C’s. We’ll discuss that off the blog.
        I hope you’ve shared the blog with everyone around you? Don’t keep it to yourself!

Leave a Reply

