To Be Or Not? E10

…..Just then; Emily’s phone rang. She glanced at the screen and silenced the call. Buchi immediately suspected it was Obi calling, she quickly snatched the phone immediately Emily dropped it and answered the call, Emily tried unsuccessfully to stop her from answering the call. When that failed; she gesticulated with her hands signaling she wasn’t there.
“Hello Obi, it’s been a while.” Buchi said, ignoring Emily, not given Obi the opportunity to get in a word, she went on. “And you won’t believe, but I just asked Emily about you; you’re the true son of your father. Emily is here, let me pass the phone to her.” And she quickly put the phone at Emily’s ear.

“Emily?” Obi asked staring at the phone to confirm she was still on the line.

“I’m here.” She whispered dry-mouthed.

“Can we talk now?”

“My lunch break is almost over.”

“Ok. Can I pick you up after work, today?”

“Ehm, church. I have to go to church.” She grasped at an excuse not to meet with him.

He laughed softly. “Today is Monday.” He reminded her.

“Oh, ok.” She acquiesced, she had run out of excuses.

“Six?”

“Seven pm. Like you said; today is monday.”

“Ok. See you then.” He replied. Excited he had gotten her to commit to a meeting, and the Emily he knew never went back on her promise.

Emily ended the call and looked up to find Buchi grinning widely. The grin irritated Emily greatly, she simply shook her head and pushed her plate aside.
She was suddenly very full and didn’t or couldn’t eat another spoonful.

“So?” Buchi prompted.

“You and I aren’t having this discussion, I have work to get back to.” Emily got up.

“But you haven’t finished your food?”

“I’m full. Eat up let’s go.”

“Are you going to stand over me while I eat?” Buchi raised an eyebrow questioningly.

Rolling her eyes in exasperation, Emily sat back down and patiently waited for Buchi to finish her meal.

“You know what I find funny? You aren’t upset with your mom for the hookup, because you told me you both ended up talking for hours, rather you’re upset with poor innocent Obi; who is equally a pawn in this matchmaking game. How?”

Emily’s only response to that question was a raised eyebrow.

Laughing, Buchi held up both hands in surrender before going back to her food smiling to herself and stealing glances at Emily’s disturbed face.

*

Obi was waiting, parked outside Emily’s office when she closed by 6:30 pm. She slid into the car and buckled up.

“Where would you like to go?” Obi asked her.

“Anywhere is fine.”

“Indigo?”

“Ok.”

He sighed in frustration, he couldn’t understand why she was acting this way. Where was the happy, chatty, Emily he used to know? “How was work today?” He asked in an attempt to draw her out.

“Fine.”

He smiled sadly. “Is there something I’m missing, is something wrong?” He asked. He had wanted to leave the heavy stuff till after dinner but couldn’t help asking.

“Nothing.” She replied looking straight ahead.

“Really? Because up until yesterday afternoon we were cool, but since then; you’ve avoided my calls, and now you’re responding to my questions in monosylabbles. I ask again; is something wrong?”.

“Nothing is wrong.” Emily repeated.

Obi turned to her at a red light. “Is it because of our mothers matchmaking efforts, I sense you’re embarrassed. Why?”

“I’m not…..”

“Don’t lie to me Emily, and stop with the vague denials and tell me what the issue is.” He cut her off.

She exhaled slowly. “I don’t know why I find it embarrassing.”

He laughed. “I guessed as much. You do realize you are not responsible for your mother’s actions, same way I’m not responsible for my mom’s actions.”

“I know, its just….”

“Relax. We’re here; let’s eat.” He was parked at the restaurant parking lot.

Walking into the restaurant, she realized that a lot of her previous apprehension had alleviated.

They chatted while they ate, talking about everything and nothing. From the entertainment industry to the banking industry, and politics. That was one of the things Emily liked about Obi; he was well grounded in most fields, and he was always eager to learn.

She got so carried away by the light-hearted banter and was caught unawares when he suddenly said; ” Supposing we do it?”

“Huh?” She was lost, her smile froze up. “Do….?”

“Take this relationship to the next level.” He held her gaze.

Suddenly parched and flustered, she sipped water slowly giving herself time to collect her thoughts. “I thought you said you don’t want to do the serious thing?” She asked him hoping her voice didn’t come out as shaky as she felt.

“At the time yes, and I needed to be sure its me you see and not Obi Thompson the Media personality.”

“Oh, I see.” She sipped some more water. “And now you’re sure, or is it because our mothers know each other?”

“Off course not.”

“On the flip side, what if I don’t want to be with someone in the entertainment industry, because that means living in the public eye?”

“Its just a job, which I love. You know the me behind the name.”

“Ok, what if we try and it doesn’t work out? This newly re-established friendship between our moms will be soured.”

“What if it totally works?” He countered.

“We don’t know that!”

“Nothing is given, everyday is a risk.”

“Yea.” She set her glass down and picked up her fork to toy with her salad.

He stared at her for some seconds, a smile on his handsome face. When she became uncomfortable under his glare, she asked; “What?”

He laughed. “I know you’ve made a decision already, out with it.”

She smiled. “Since you know me so well, what do you think my response will be?” She teased.

“I’m hoping for a yes, or ‘ok’ like you say.” He replied in the same light-hearted mode.

She giggled. “Ok.”

His smile expanded widely.
“Ok?”

“Ok.” She affirmed.

*

Looking back to that day a year ago; Emily felt that was the day her life began. Obi was everything she had ever wanted in a man, he really made her happy.

Eight months after they officially began dating, he popped the question while they were on vacation in Kenya, and they got married today which was about a year after they began dating.

She admired her wedding ring again as the car drove them from the Church to the reception venue, it was so beautiful; a plain gold band with his initials engraved in it (his had her initials too), she was filled with such joy; she had found her prince.

**********

Emily’s story ends here, but like I always say; ‘A True Love Story Never Ends’. I hope you enjoyed it, I hope you weren’t to put-off with the delayed posts?

Let me know what you think, Read, Enjoy, Comment, Subscribe for Email updates, and Share.

7 thoughts on “To Be Or Not? E10

  1. Awwwwww. Nicey!!! The delay made me forget about the story but of course I still rushed 2 open the mail when I got the notification. Lol. It’s quite a “short” story buh I enjoyed it not withstanding. Thumbs up girl! More ink 2 ur ever flowing pen.

Leave a Reply

