MOTIVE Episode Eleven

The long holiday/weekend starts now, enjoy the hols, read, enjoy, share.

“I don’t know where you got this idea of another woman, I bought you that ring, I’m here to ask you to marry me.”
Chima stared open mouthed at Dayo; did he just say what she just heard? She tapped her head as though to clear it.
“This is the first time I’ve seen you tongue tied.“
“Yea, well, it’s not every day my enemies ask me to marry them.” She retorted, finding her voice.
He chuckled, came to crouch before her, taking her hands into his. “You and I aren’t enemies. We never have been, and never will be.” He said softly.
“But we dislike each other, I mean, we always rub each other the wrong way.“
“It can be argued, that all that was us fighting the attraction.”
She was silent; she couldn’t in all honesty counter that, for she knew it was true.
“Okay, assuming that’s true….” She began.
“It is true.” He interrupted, standing to his feet.
“Assuming that is true,” She waved his words away. “Wouldn’t the normal, sane thing to do have been; we begin a relationship, get to know each other better, see if we are compatible, before we do the marriage thing.”
He grinned widely. “We have a whole lifetime to get to know each other after we are married.” He replied.
“Who are you, and what have you done with Dayo Lasisi?” she whispered, seriously dumbfounded.
He laughed heartily.
“I’m glad you are entertained.” She said drily. “Is this some sort of joke to you?”
“Does it sound like a joke to you?” he asked seriously. “Does this look like a joke to you?” he brought out the ring box, went down on a knee before her, and opened the box. “Marry me Yemisi, be my wife, my friend, my partner, the mother of my children….”
Chima looked at the ring, the diamond and sapphire stones glittering in the dark. This was happening, it wasn’t a joke, and Dayo was really asking her to be his wife. She couldn’t think straight, she got up, and started pacing.
“Are you going to give me an answer, my knee is hurting.” He said after a while.
“For the love of God, sit, sit down.”
He sat in the chair she vacated, she continued pacing. After some seconds, she came to a stop before him.
“This is like a dream. We can’t stand each other.”
“Not true.”
“We barely know each other.”
“We have the rest of our lives to remedy that.“
“You have no idea how much I want this, this is so tempting, you are so tempting, and the ring……” her voice faded away as she stared lovingly at the ring. “Like icing on a cake.”
“So say yes. We both want this, we will make it work.”
“I…. I, are you sure?”
“Yes I’m sure, let’s do this, let’s get married.”
“Yes.”
“Yes!” he hugged her in a bone crushing hug, took the ring out of the box, and slipped it on her finger. It was a perfect fit. She admired the ring through teary eyes. He hugged her again.

As Lady Ahaba-Briggs walked briskly alongside Ateke, all eyes in the lobby and all the way to the elevators were on her. Even the Queen of England couldn’t have appeared more regal. She looked ultra-chic in a purple silk pant suit, which flattered her complexion, and figure. Her three inch heels shoes added a boost to her average height. As they waited in silence for the elevator, with her tapping her foot impatiently, Ateke was wondering how quickly he could get away from her. But knowing he still had to check her in at the hotel, he resigned himself to a long evening ahead.
When they arrived at the senator’s room, she stood at his bedside watching him sleep. The wraparound sunglasses she wore made it difficult to gauge her emotions.
“What’s the prognosis?” she asked quietly.
“The doctor says his vitals are very good, and he expects him to regain consciousness soon.”
“I would like to meet with the doctor.”
Ateke turned to the nurse in the room. “Please see if the doctor is in his office.”
The nurse left. Lady Ada sat in the chair closest to the bed.
‘What’s all this business about a mistress?”
“Pardon?”
“The papers, they say Tom was with his mistress when he was kidnapped.”
“The papers are wrong, he wasn’t with his mistress.”
“So he has a mistress?”
“That’s for him to answer.” Ateke’s phone rang, his thoughts were; saved by the bell, until he glanced at the screen and saw it was Deola. He sighed and excused himself to take the call.
“Hello Deola.”
“Hello, Ateke, the doctor said I can go home. I want to pass through the hospital, look in on Tom on my way.”

Leave a Reply

